Tempo Dance Festival is brought to you by a team of highly-skilled wāhine toa who are committed to servicing Aotearoa’s dance sector. The team consists of Cat Ruka (Artistic Director), Chloe Klein (Producer), Kirsty Brownfield (Finance Manager) and Natalie Williams (Marketing Manager). Together these wāhine breathe life into the organisation’s commitment to being Aotearoa’s leading pan-genre dance festival by holding strong to a pou of values:

Cultural Intersectionality: We strive to give space to all dance forms, and respect and uphold the value systems of different dance cultures. We want to be a place of belonging that mirrors the cultural dynamism of Aotearoa.

Creativity: We promote innovation, creative risk-taking, and the development of compelling artistry. We know that there are limited opportunities for dance artists to incubate their creativity, and we are dedicated to changing that.

Vitality: We enhance the mana of our artists, audiences and communities by extending generosity and hosting energetic, warm and memorable experiences. We perceive connection and relationship-building as being the key to a thriving sector.

Quality:We challenge ourselves and our dance communities to define what excellence can be, and to reach for it on their own terms. We want to be a transformative organisation that supports self-determined growth.

Collaboration:We embark on authentic and reciprocal partnerships with artists and organisations to strengthen sector resilience and sustainability. We champion for kotahitanga and collectivity.

Wellbeing: We set high standards for wellbeing, and role model holistic wellness practices for our dance communities. 


Want to be part of Tempo? We are currently accepting expressions of interest for 2019, submit your expression of interest now!



Ever wondered what goes on behind the scenes? If you're keen to be part of the craziness, volunteer now!



Provide artists with opportunities to grow and shine. Support the development of New Zealand dance, donate now!


Get to know us

Introducing our team

Management Team

Board of Trustees